Fixing Linux problem: “passwd: Authentication token manipulation error”

I had a very irritating problem on one of my OEL 5 virtual machines, actually on my main Oracle 11g database test server, which is the last stop before production.

Googling did not solve this problem for me, since this error can apparently be caused by several things, so it was unresolved for many weeks, and I considered just creating another virtual machine instead, and reinstalling Oracle.

But this morning, I easily solved the problem, just by reading a man page a little more closely, so I thought I’d share my experience :)

Problem:
For some unknown reason, I could suddenly not change the password of my oracle user, neither as root or as the user itself, because using the command passwd immediately gave me the message “passwd: Authentication token manipulation error”. I could log in as the user, though, for example by doing su – oracle, or by ssh-ing in with public keys set.

Google thought this had to do with a lot of file access or pam settings issues that I knew were not relevant to my problem, partly because I always received this error before I got to write any new password for the user at all.

Solution (for me):
passwd (when run from the root account) also has the option -d, to delete (set to null), a user’s passwd. It occurred to me that this might work, since it might not involve any checks against the existing, somehow corrupt, passwd. And it did. So, for me, the 10 second solution was – as root:


passwd -d oracle
passwd oracle

Hope it might be helpful to others!

, ,

  1. #1 by Marek Goldmann on 21/04/2010 - 09:22

    Saved me a lot of searching, thanks!

    Still, do you have an idea where this pb comes from?

  2. #2 by Espen Barroso-Gomez on 21/04/2010 - 10:58

    No, I tried a lot of approaches to trace and log what happened, but I ended up with no idea of what had caused this, unfortunately.

  3. #3 by Rajiv on 01/09/2011 - 16:13

    I’ve encountered a similar error, and tried the workaround as in your case, but the issue persists,any further suggestions on this please.

  4. #4 by tilakdpt on 16/01/2012 - 19:54

    it din work on inx-1.1 which i am using on windows xp… thanks.

  5. #5 by Tim Galyean on 03/02/2012 - 19:33

    Works like a charm for CentOS also. Thanks

  6. #6 by alibongo on 29/02/2012 - 01:48

    Thanks so much for this. I hit exactly the same problem, and I have no idea why. This seems to have fixed it though.

  7. #7 by ralston on 05/03/2012 - 09:09

    awesome!!!

  8. #8 by apscomp on 06/09/2012 - 01:48

    Thanks a lot !!

  9. #9 by saravanan on 26/09/2012 - 11:13

    Superb.. It saved my time :) Thanks for sharing

  10. #10 by Raj on 05/11/2012 - 12:27

    I have exactly same problem on OEL …but getting error as below…any body has any idea

    sh-4.1# passwd -d oracle
    Removing password for user oracle.
    passwd: Error

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

