Hello world!

Oracle, Prologue

My name is Espen Hartwich, and I’ve been working with various Oracle technologies for close to ten years. Not so long, in other words :)

In my line of work, I get exposed to problems and challenges across the whole stack of Oracle products, which is why I’ll probably never be able to specialize, so I’m trying instead to be as good a generalist as possible.

I’ve never been an Oracle developer, though, and it’s been 6 years since I wrote any original code – Lisp at that time – instead of editing and modifying the code of others. But having a curious mind you’ll probably see me at both at ADF, Ruby and APEX sessions at Openworld, in between the architecture and operations sessions I’ll try to attend.

So mainly my experiences – I’ll write up a resume of sorts later on – have been in operations, as a UNIX sysadmin, an Oracle DBA, and as an Apps DBA. At the moment, most of what I need to do relates to Fusion Middleware, from the infrastructure (OAS in all its forms) to the applications, which is the reason for the title of this site; I’m just excited to see where working with all these new middleware options is going to take me.

In the meantime, I’ll try to write about problems I’ve faced, and hopefully supply some answers as well, that might be helpful to some.

Some goals for this blog are:

  • Organizing experiences and thoughts about Oracle stuff
  • Creating some useful content
  • Being part of the community
  • Getting better at writing – conciseness in particular

That’s not much of a focus, but I’m sure the profile of this blog will evolve over time, hopefully for the better. Comments and questions are, of course, very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

