Fusion – are we there yet?

Fusion Apps, Middleware, Oracle, Uncategorized

Fusion – are we there yet?

I’ve been explaining Oracle Fusion many times. But I’m starting to feel I’m not getting somewhere
fast enough..

It’s always been a little fuzzy what Oracle Fusion entails, since the first announcement in 2005.
(I have no memory of Fusion from before that time, so first mention might have been even earlier.)

Myself, I’m a big fan :) since all that Fusion means, generates potentially a lot of of work for
people like me, albeit possibly a bit into the future still, at least in Norway, and definitely in these
murky times. Even more, I’m a fan because it gives me more technology to play with under the
Oracle umbrella, leading to more novel ways of doing integration.

I attended at least one session at Oracle OpenWorld this year that aimed to explain what
Oracle Fusion is, and I’m still less than impressed, by the fact that there’s still so great a need for
explanations. (But that session was well done; S301194)

Not at first; at the time I was just soaking up perspectives and information, but after a few more
days in San Francisco discussing Fusion with people, I was a little disappointed:

– Oracle launched Fusion more than three years ago as their most important strategy, campaign
and brand, but even after this time, I hear customers talking about conFusion. Isn’t it time to get
this sorted out?

– As can be seen from oracle.com, Fusion is a lot of stuff (“stuff” has a woolly sound to it, which fits
well in this context..). That doesn’t have to be bad, but I really would have liked a more streamlined
presentation from Oracle. At the present, the structure (for all things Fusion) is like a tree, where
you could start at any branch, and try to work your way downwards to the trunk. What I’m trying to
say is: I can’t give a client a/my description of Fusion, and then point them to oracle.com for more
information; I’d have most of them lost in translation.. (I admit I wrote this from my general feeling
of things, so I had to give it a try. Going for example to oracle.com/fusion will lead you to the Fusion
Applications sales page. Most of it assumes you visit because you know what Fusion Applications meant
to replace. But I have to qualify my statement; there’s a “Have Oracle call you” button, so if you’re
curious enough, you might click that and you might get the Fusion introduction you’re looking for.
But I haven’t tried, and I seriously doubt it :)

– A lot of money goes into the Fusion Applications product line (I must assume), and undeniably a lot
goes into Fusion Middleware (see BEA, etc). Most goes into development and acquisitions. Could it be
that marketing has a hard time keeping up?

To wrap it up: We definitely need a better definition of Fusion.

The integration of all things BEA into the products and brand should be an excellent opportunity to make this a priority.

Leave a Reply

