Installing 11gR2 on OEL 5.3 – postrequisites

Oracle

A quick followup on my post on installing 11gR2 a little while ago (last post).

There were actually only two things I had problems with after this Oracle install on OEL 5.3:

  1. I couldn’t start the listener (got an error like “cannot restore segment prot after reloc: Permission denied”) until I had set SELinux to Permissive:
    setenforce 0
    (See for example http://beyondoracle.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/rhel5-or-oel5-oracle-10g11g-error-while-loading-shared-libraries-or-stalled-oui/ for a discussion on this)
  2. I couldn’t reach the administrative URL’s before I had configured/disabled the local firewall, for this test instance with the quick fix:
    service iptables stop

Leave a Reply

